*** The Section Web Server have some technical problem and was interrupted in last week. We now move the Web Portable to a new site. There still some links and files needed to be updated and we are trying best to resume the site to normal. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

2016 IEEE Hong Kong Section Chairman Message


Dear IEEE member, non-IEEE member, or visitor,

Welcome to the IEEE Hong Kong Section.

IEEE is the world’s largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities. IEEE Hong Kong Section is one of the 334 IEEE Sections in ten geographic Regions worldwide.

It’s my great honor to the elected as Chair of the IEEE Hong Kong Section for the 2016 Session. Under the leadership of the Immediate Past Chair (Dr. Chris Chan) and efforts from our Executive Committee members, the Hong Kong Section has achieved an outstanding performance in both its recruitment and retention goals for the 2015 membership year.

In 2016, the Hong Kong Section and Chapters will arrange and organize various activities to promote and enhance research in areas of electrical and electronic engineering.  

We look forward to seeing you at an IEEE event.



Dr. George H K Lau

Chair, IEEE Hong Kong Section (2016)

Email: hklau@ieee.org

Fax: +(852) 2406-2376

Executive Committee
George H K Lau
William S W Cheung
Honorary Treasurer / Secretary
Y W Liu
Immediate Past Chair 
Chris Chan
Chapters Activities Committee Chair
Stanley Wong
Conference Committee Chair
Edwin K W Cheung
Educational Activities Committee Chair
Rosanna Chan
External Liaison 
Edward Cheung
Membership Development Committee Chair
Peter Tam
Newsletter Editor & Webmaster
Y W Liu
Professional & Career Activities  Committee Chair
Tim Woo
Public Relations
Ray Cheung
Student Activities Committee Chair
Wilson Chu
Technical Activities Committee Chair
Ricky Lau
Industry Relations Committee Chair
Laurie Lau
Awards & Recognition Committee Chair
Patrick Liu 
Chapters & Affinitive Group
AP03/MTT17 Antennas and Propagation/Microwave Theory and Techniques Joint Chapter Chair
Hau Wah Lai
CAS04/COM19 Circuits and Systems/Communications Joint Chapter Chair
Ray Cheung
CE08 Consumer Electronics Chapter Chair
Bernard C Fong
CIS11 Computational Intelligence Chapter Chair
Vincent Tam
C16 Computer Chapter Chair
T L Wang
CPMT21 Components Packaging and Manufacturing Technology Chapter Chair
Chi Chuen Lo
CS23/RA24 Control Systems / Robotics and AutomationJoint Joint Chapter Chair
Youfu Li
E25 Education Chapter Chair
Kai Tai Tang
ED15/SSC37 Electron Devices/Solid State Circuit Joint Chapter Chair
Wing Man Tang
EMB18 Engineering in Medicine and Biology Chapter Chair
Kai Tai Tang
EMC27 Electromagnetic Compatibility Chapter Chair
Jeffrey Tsang
PE31/IA34/PEL35/IE13/  Power Engineering/Industry Applications/Power Electronics/Industry Electronics Joint Chapter Chair
William Y. K. Chan
IT12 Information Theory Chapter Chair
C W Tan
MAG33 Magnetics Chapter Chair
Chi Wah Leung
PHO36 Photonics Chapter Chair
Alan P T Lau
PSE Product Safety Engineering Chapter Chair
Horace Lau
SMC28 Systems, Man and Cybernetics Chapter Chair
Patrick Chan
SP01 Signal Processing Chapter Chair
Ken W K Ma
TM14 Technology Management Chapter Chair
Edwin K W Cheung
Young Professional Group Chair
Sharad Sinha
Women in Engineering
Lieny Jang
Honorary Advisors
P C Ching
Professor of Electronic Engineering, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
K M Luk
Chair Professor of Electronic Engineering, The City University of Hong Kong
W C Siu
Chair Professor of Information Engineering, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Jerome Liu
Legal Advisor